About Clayton

City Offices are located at City of Clayton, 6000 Heritage Trail, Clayton, CA 94517.

Staff is available during our regular office hours: Monday through Friday, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm.          

Our telephone number is (925) 673-7300 and fax number is (925) 672-4917.


City Administration (925) 673-7300

Gary Napper, City Manager

Laura Hoffmeister, Assistant to the City Manager

Janet Brown,City Clerk


Finance Department (925) 673-7300

Kevin Mizuno, Finance Director

Jennifer Giantvalley, Accounting Technician (available Monday, Wednesday & Friday)


Business License/Code Enforcement (925) 625-7310

Anna Melendez, Office Assistant


Community Development (925) 673-7340

Mindy Gentry, Community Development Director

Milan Sikela, Assistant Planner (available Wednesday, Thursday & Friday)


Engineering (contracted) (925) 969-8181

Scott D. Alman, City Engineer


Maintenance (925) 673-7327

Jim Warburton, Supervisor

Vacant, Senior Maintenance Worker

Maintenance Worker II: Sandro Arias and Dan Johnston

Maintenance Worker I: George Gonzalez and Jeff Miller.


Police Department (925) 673-7350

Elise Warren, Police Chief


EMERGENCY- Police and Fire 9-1-1

Clayton is located within Contra Costa Fire Protection District


The City of Clayton is a General Law City, Council-Manager Government, which is governed by five (5) City Council members (one of whom serves annually as Mayor, by City Council vote). The City Council meets the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays, typically at 7:00 pm at Hoyer Hall, Clayton Community Library, 6125 Clayton Road.   The agendas are posted at: City Hall, 6000 Heritage Trail; Clayton Community Library, 6125 Clayton Road; Ohm Bulletin Board, 1028 Diablo Street; and the City website at ci.clayton.ca.us (click on “Government”, “City Council” then “Agendas & Minutes”).


The City of Clayton Planning Commission has five (5) members and meets the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays, at 7:00 pm at Hoyer Hall, Clayton Community Library, 6125 Clayton Road.