Election 2016


NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the following persons have been nominated for the offices herein mentioned to be filled at the General  Election to be held in the City of Clayton on the 8th day of November, 2016;





*Name of Nominees in alpha random listed by SOS (E.C. 13112(b)(1)(C)(i)


General Municipal Election Information

Clayton is a General Law city, governed by a City Council comprised of five elected members who serve at-large for four-year overlapping terms. It operates under the Council-Manager form of local government.

Municipal elections are held on even-numbered years in November in accord with Clayton Municipal Code, Chapter 2, Section 2.02.10. Councilmember terms overlap, with three Councilmembers elected one year and the other two elected two years later. Each year, the Council selects one of its members to serve as Mayor and another to serve as Vice Mayor. The City Council also serves as the Successor Agency governing body, Clayton Finance Authority Board and the Oakhurst Geological Hazard Abatement District Board (GHAD).

Three Council offices held by incumbents Jim Diaz, Howard Geller and Julie Pierce will be on this November ballot. This is an at large election and the three candidates which receive the highest number of votes are elected.

Important election contact information:

  • Fair Political Practices Commission web site: www.fppc.ca.gov
  • Secretary of State Web site: www.sos.ca.gov
  • County Election Department Web site: www.cocovote.us, Phone No. (925) 335-7800
  • City Clerk’s office: Phone No. (925) 673-7304.


The last day to register to vote in the November 8, 2016 election is Monday, October 24, 2016. Voter registration cards may be obtained in the City Clerk’s office located at 6000 Heritage Trail.


Revised: 7/26/2016