Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Regional Planning


The City of Clayton participates in regional planning issues such as housing, transportation, and resources conservation.

Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG)

ABAG is the regional planning agency for the San Francisco Bay Area and is comprised of nine counties and 101 cities.  ABAG was created to meet local government’s needs related to land use, environmental and water resource protection, disaster resilience, energy efficiency and hazardous waste mitigation, and to provide risk management.

Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC)

MTC is the transportation planning, financing and coordinating agency for the nine-county San Francisco Bay Area.

Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA)

CCTA is the public agency formed by Contra Costa voters in 1988 to manage the county’s half cent sales tax and to do countywide transportation planning.  The CCTA is responsible for maintaining and improving the county’s transportation system by planning, funding, and delivering critical transportation infrastructure projects and programs.

East Contra Costa County Habitat Conservancy

East Contra Costa County Habitat Conservancyis a joint exercise of powers authority formed by the Cities of Brentwood, Clayton, Oakley and Pittsburg and Contra Costa County to implement the East Contra Costa County Habitat Conservation Plan / Natural Community Conservation Plan (HCP/NCCP or Plan).  The Plan provides regional conservation and development guidelines to protect natural resources while improving and streamlining the permit process for endangered species and wetland regulations.